We understand that for a variety of reasons, you might not want to keep using the forum, especially if you’re worried about posting about difficult and sensitive experiences online. As part of this, you may want your posts to be deleted. Ideally, we’d like to keep all posts on the forum for everyone to benefit from and to ensure discussions on the forum make sense, but we understand that this might not always feel safe for you.
If it’s important for you to have your posts deleted before leaving the forum, this has to be done manually by a moderator. You will need to e-mail us first (at email@example.com) to request this before you delete your account. We will reply to confirm whether we can do this (it might be difficult if you’re a very prolific poster!) and that it’s been done, if we can. Only then you can delete your user profile (see below). If you delete your user profile first, all of your posts will show as ‘Anonymous’ rather than with your username, so we will no longer be able to identify them and cannot delete them.
If you want to just delete your account:
Login to your account
Go to your profile, and then ‘Settings’
Under the Settings menu, on the far right hand side, there is a ‘Delete’ button. Click this and you will see a warning that all your content will be deleted. If you’re happy to proceed, tick the box labelled ‘I understand the consequences’ and then click ‘Delete Account’.
You’ll then be redirected back to the home page of the forum, logged out. If you try to log in again with your user details, it won’t work.